FEO Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2019 FEO Award Program recipients! The 2019 FEO Awards were handed out on Thursday, February 28th  during FEO’s Annual Conference “ENGAGE” in London, Ontario and were judged by an independent panel of judges early December 2018. 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Entertainment – Alternative Entertainment Providers
Science North Outreach Science En Route www.sciencenorth.ca 

Entertainment – Performers
Mega Magic, Mike D’Urzo www.megamagic.ca
 
Entertainment – Agency
Mega Magic Talent www.megamagictalent.com
 
Operational – Administrative Service Providers:
OLG www.olg.ca

Operational – Foundational Product Providers
Modu-Loc Fence Rentals www.moduloc.ca 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



FEO would like to congratulate the following 2019 Hall of Fame Inductee presented by Little Electric Inc.

Guy Laflamme - (Ottawa)

Guy Laflamme was the Director of the Ottawa 2017 year-long calendar of extraordinary events, which served as the centerpiece of Canada’s 150th sesquicentennial year celebration and left over 11 million attendees with memories to last a lifetime and generated over 250 million dollars in economic impact.

2016 Chair of the IFEA World Board, Guy imagined, produced and experienced the intense scope and scale of events that effectively changed how Canada’s capital and other global event cities around the world now think of the power of events.

Guy Laflamme specializes in the creation, production and marketing of cultural, recreational and tourism products.  He has been managing large scale events for over 30 years, including H2K produced for the turn of the Millennium which was broadcast on Today 2000 to over 2 billion people. He was professor of management with the University of Ottawa for 25 years and University of Bucharest for 10 years.
 
Guy was named person of the 2017 year for Ottawa-Gatineau by Radio-Canada/LeDroit, University of Ottawa Alumni of the year, received the Order of Ottawa and a lifetime achievement award by the Travel Industry Association of Ontario. He also managed, a humanitarian project in West Africa over a 6-year period called Making Niger our Business which generated half a million dollars in support to the world poorest country. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




FEO would like to congratulate the following 2019 Volunteer of the Year presented by Nothers Signs & Recognition:

Maduba Ahmad - MuslimFest (Mississauga)

FEO would like to congratulate the following 2019 Family Volunteer of the Year:

The Beattie Family – Winona Peach Festival (Winona)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



FEO would like to congratulate the 2019 Municipality of the Year recipients under the following three categories presented by OLG:

Population less than 50,000
Town of Amherstburg www.amherstburg.ca

Population more than 50,000 and less than 150,000
Municipality of Clarington www.clarington.net

Population more than 150,000 (tie)
City of Hamilton www.hamilton.ca
Town of Richmond Hill www.richmondhill.ca 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

FEO would like to congratulate the 2019 Achievement Award Winners sponsored by CTM Media Group:
 
Best Greening of a Festival or Event
$500,000 or more

Hillside Festival: July 12-14, 2019 www.hillsidefestival.ca
 
Best New Festival or Event
$100,000 or less - Amherstburg Uncommon Festival: Aug. 3-5, 2019  www.amherstburg.ca
$100,001 to $500,000 - WTF Festival:  June. 7-9, 2019  www.wtffestival.ca
$500,001 or more – Ride, Dine 'N' Stein:   Oct. 11-19, 2019 www.oktoberfest.ca
 
Best Promotional Campaign
$100,000 or less – Open Streets Whitby:   Sept. 28, 2019  www.whitby.ca/openstreets
$100,001 to $500,000 - Live on the Waterfront: July 10- Aug. 28, 2019 www.thunderbay.ca/en/recreation/
$500,001 or more – Winter Festival of Lights:   Nov. 2, 2019-Jan. 31, 2020 www.wfol.com
 
Sponsor of the year
$100,000 or less - Small Halls Festival with Creemore Springs Brewery Limited:
Oct. 3-6, 2019  www.smallhallsfestival.ca           
$100,001 to $500,000 – Live on the Waterfront with Ontario Power Generation:
July 10-Aug. 28, 2019 www.thunderbay.ca/en/recreation
 
Best Community Partner Outreach Program         
$500,001 or more – Port Elgin Pumpkinfest with Not-For Profit Groups of Port Elgin:
Oct. 5-6, 2019  www.pumpkinfest.org

Best Fundraising Idea     
Creation Station: Make Your Own Button - Blue Mountain Village Association:  www.bluemountainvillage.ca
 
Best Social Media Campaign
Norfolk County Fair & Horse Show:   Oct. 8-14, 2019 www.norfolkcountyfair.com
 
Best Youth Initiative
Supercrawl:   Sept. 13-15, 2019 www.supercrawl.ca
 
Best Volunteer Program
Vaughan Celebrates Volunteer Program:   www.vaughan.ca/events
 
Best New Single Sponsorship
Port Elgin Pumpkinfest with Sunbelt Rentals:  Oct. 5-6, 2019 www.pumpkinfest.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

These Top 100 recipients represent Ontario’s festivals and events that excel within the industry. Included in the Top 100 are the Festivals & Events of Distinction (LOD) representing a select group of the most well-known and respected celebrations in the province; celebrations which draw both an international and domestic audience

PROVINCE WIDE

Doors Open Ontario: April 20-Oct. 31, 2019 www.doorsopenontario.on.ca

RTO 1 - SOUTHWEST ONTARIO TOURISM REGION

Carrousel of Nations:   June 14-23, 2019 www.carrouselofnations.com
Eat & Drink Norfolk:   April 4-6, 2019 www.norfolkcountyfair.com
Hogs for Hospice:  Aug. 2-4, 2019 www.hogsforhospice.com
Norfolk County Fair & Horse Show:   Oct. 8-14, 2019 www.norfolkcountyfair.com
River Lights Winter Festival: Nov. 16-Dec. 23, 2019 www.amherstburg.ca/riverlights
Simcoe Christmas Panorama: Nov. 30, 2019-Jan. 5, 2020 www.simcoepanorama.ca
TD Sunfest: Canada's Premier Celebration of World Cultures:   July 4-7, 2019 www.sunfest.on.ca
Tecumseh Corn Festival:   Aug. 23-25, 2019 www.tecumsehcornfestival.ca
*Western Fair:   Sept. 7-16, 2019 www.westernfairdistrict.com

RTO 2 - NIAGARA FALLS AND WINE COUNTRY TOURISM REGION

Canal Days Marine Heritage Festival:   Aug.2-5,2019 www.canaldays.ca
*Niagara Wine Festival:   Sept. 14-29, 2019 www.niagarawinefestival.com
*OPG Winter Festival of Lights:   Nov. 2, 2019-Jan. 31, 2020 www.wfol.com
Pelham Summerfest:   July 18-21, 2019 www.pelhamsummerfest.ca
TD Niagara Jazz Festival: July 18-28, 2019 www.niagarajazzfestival.com

RTO 3 - HAMILTON, HALTON AND BRANT TOURISM REGION

Canada's Largest Ribfest:   Aug. 30-Sept.2, 2019 www.canadaslargestribfest.com
City of Burlington's Canada Day Celebration:   July 1st, 2019 www.burlington.ca/events
City of Burlington's Children's Festival:   Aug. 18, 2019 www.burlington.ca/events 
Dundas Cactus Festival:   Aug. 16-18, 2019 www.dundascactusfestival.ca
Dundas International Buskerfest:  June 7-9, 2019 www.dundasbuskerfest.ca
It's your Festival:   June 29-July 1, 2019 www.itsyourfestival.ca
Oakville Children's Festival:  Aug. 17, 2019 www.oakville.ca
Paris Fair:  Aug. 29-Sept. 2, 2019 www.parisfair.com
St. George AppleFest:   Sept. 21-22, 2019 www.stgeorgeapplefest.com
*Sound of Music Festival:   June 8-16, 2019 www.soundofmusic.ca
Supercrawl:   Sept. 13-15, 2019 www.supercrawl.ca
Telling Tales Festival:   Sept. 15, 2019 www.tellingtales.org
The Re-enactment of the Battle of Stoney Creek:   June 1-2, 2019 www.hamilton.ca/battlefield
Winona Peach Festival:  Aug. 23-25, 2019 www.winonapeach.com

RTO 4 - HURON, PERTH, WATERLOO AND WELLINGTON TOURISM REGION

Christkindl Market:   Dec. 5-8, 2019 www.christkindl.ca
Christmas in Cambridge Festival of Events:   Nov. 29-Dec. 31, 2019 www.christmasincambridge.ca
Fergus Scottish Festival & Highland Games:   Aug. 9-11, 2019 www.fergusscottishfestival.com
*Guelph Hillside Festival:   July 12-14, 2019 www.hillsidefestival.ca
*Kitchener-Waterloo Oktoberfest:   Oct. 11-19, 2019 www.oktoberfest.ca
*Stratford Festival:   Apr. 16-Nov. 3, 2019 www.stratfordfestival.ca
The Mount Forest Fireworks Festival:   July 19-21, 2019 www.mountforestfireworks.ca

RTO 5 - GREATER TORONTO AREA TOURISM REGION

Arts Walk of Fame Brampton:   Fall 2019 www.brampton.ca
Brampton New Year's Eve:   Dec. 31, 2019 www.brampton.ca
*Canadian National Exhibition:   Aug. 16-Sept. 2, 2019 www.theex.com
Carassauga Festival of Cultures:   May 24-26, 2019 www.carassauga.com
Grace International Jerk Food and Music Festival (Jerkfest):   Aug. 8-11, 2019 www.jerkfestival.ca
JAMBANA™ One World Festival:   Aug. 4-5 www.jambana.com
*Luminato Festival:   June 7-23, 2019 www.luminatofestival.com
Mississauga Italfest:   Aug. 16-17, 2019 www.mississaugaitalfest.com
MuslimFest:   Aug. 30-Sept. 1, 2019 www.muslimfest.com
*Redpath Waterfront Festival, presented by Billy Bishop Airport:  June 29-July 1, 2019 www.towaterfrontfest.com
Remembrance Day Parade and Service:   Nov. 11, 2019 www.brampton.ca
*Rogers Cup Presented by National Bank:   Aug. 3-11, 2019 www.rogerscup.com
SING! The Toronto Vocal Arts Festival:   May 24-June 2, 2019 www.singtoronto.com
TD Salsa in Toronto Festival:   July 6-7, 2019 www.salsaintoronto.com
The Streetsville Founders' Bread and Honey Festival Inc.:   May 31-June 2, 2019 www.breadandhoney.com
The Word on the Street Toronto:   Sept. 21-22, 2019 www.thewordonthestreet.ca/wots/toronto
*Toronto Caribbean Carnival:   July 7-Aug. 11, 2019 www.torontocaribbeancarnival.com
*Toronto International Film Festival:   Sept. 5-15, 2019 www.tiff.net

RTO 6 - YORK, DURHAM AND HILLS OF HEADWATERS TOURISM REGION

Aurora's Haunted Forest:   Oct. 26, 2019 www.aurora.ca/hauntedforest
Aurora's Tree Lighting Ceremony:   Nov. 29-Dec. 1, 2019 www.aurora.ca
Brooklin Harvest Festival:  Sept. 14, 2019 www.whitby.ca
Canada Day Celebrations:   July 1st, 2019 www.richmondhill.ca/canadaday
Orangeville Blues and Jazz Festival:   May 31-June 2, 2019 www.orangevillebluesandjazz.ca
Peony Festival:   June 15-16, 2019 www.oshawa.ca/peony  
Vaughan Celebrates Concerts in the Park:  June 5 - July 31, 2019 www.vaughan.ca/events

RTO 7 - BRUCE PENINSULA, SOUTHERN GEORGIAN BAY AND LAKE SIMCOE TOURISM REGION

Barrie Automotive Flea Market:   June 6-9, 2019 & Sept. 5-8, 2019 www.thebafm.com
Barrie Winterfest:   Feb.1-2, 2020 www.barrie.ca/winterfest
Carrot Fest:   Aug. 16-17, 2019 www.carrotfest.ca
Cobble Beach Concours d'Elegence:   Sept. 14-15, 2019 www.cobblebeachconcours.com
Collingwood Elvis Festival:   July 26-28, 2019 www.collingwoodelvisfestival.com
First Light:   Nov. 21-Dec. 6, 2019 www.saintemarieamongthehurons.on.ca
Creemore Springs Turas Mór:   May 25, 2019 www.creemorespringsturasmor.com
Lighthouse Blues Festival:   July 12-14, 2019 www.lighthousebluesfest.ca
Meaford Scarecrow Invasion and Family Festival:   Sept. 11-Oct. 22, 2018 www.scarecrowinvasion.ca
Ontario's Best Butter Tart Festival:   June 8, 2019 www.buttertartfestival.ca
Port Elgin Pumpkinfest:  Oct. 5-6, 2019 www.pumpkinfest.org
Pumpkinferno:   Oct. 3-30, 2019  www.discoveryharbour.on.ca
Sidelaunch Days:   Aug. 10-11, 2019 www.sidelaunchdays.ca
Small Halls Festival:   Oct. 3-6, 2019 www.clearview.ca
Summerfolk Music & Crafts Festival:  Aug. 16-18, 2019 www.sumerfolk.org

RTO 8 - KAWARTHA AND NORTHUMBERLAND TOURISM REGION

Buckhorn Fine Art Festival:   Aug. 17-18, 2019 www.buckhornfineart.com
*Havelock Country Jamboree:   Aug. 15-18, 2019 www.havelockjamboree.com

RTO 9 - SOUTH EASTERN ONTARIO TOURISM REGION

Belleville Waterfront & Ethnic Festival:   July 11-14, 2019 www.bellevillechamber.ca
Kingston Sheep Dog Trials Festival:   Aug. 9-11, 2019 www.kingstonsheepdogtrials.com

RTO 10 - OTTAWA AND COUNTRYSIDE TOURISM REGION

*Canada Day Celebrations (Ottawa/Gatineau):   July 01, 2019 www.canada.ca/[...]canada-day
Canadian Tulip Festival:   May 10-20, 2019 www.tulipfestival.ca
*Ottawa Chamberfest:   July 25-Aug. 8, 2019 www.chamberfest.com
*RBC Bluesfest:   July 4-14, 2019 www.ottawabluesfest.ca
*TD Ottawa Jazz Festival:   June 20-July 1, 2019 www.ottawajazzfestival.com
*Winterlude (Ottawa/Gatineau):   Jan. 31-Feb. 17, 2020 www.canada.ca/[...]winterlude

RTO 11 - HALIBURTON HIGHLANDS TO THE OTTAWA VALLEY TOURISM REGION

Bancroft Rockhound Gemboree:   Aug. 1-4, 2019 www.rockhoundgemboree.ca
Stewart Park Festival:   July 19-21, 2019 www.stewartparkfestival.com
Tweed & Company Theatre Season:  April 13, 2019-Feb. 17, 2020 www.tweedandcompany.com

RTO 12 - MUSKOKA, PARRY SOUND AND ALGONQUIN PARK TOURISM REGION

Bala Cranberry Festival:   Oct.18-20, 2019 www.balacranberryfestival.on.ca
Festival of the Sound:   July 19-Aug. 10, 2019 www.festivalofthesound.ca
Fire & Ice Festival:  Jan. 25, 2020 www.fireandicebracebridge.com

RTO 13 - NORTHERN ONTARIO TOURISM REGION

Haunted Fort Night:   Oct. 3-27, 2019 www.fwhp.ca
*International Plowing Match & Rural Expo (Verner, West Nipissing):  Sept. 17-21, 2019 www.plowingmatch.org
Live on the Waterfront:   July 10-Aug. 28, 2019 www.thunderbay.ca/live
Sioux Lookout Blueberry Festival:  Aug. 2-11, 2019 www.blueberrybert.com
Teddy Bears Picnic:  July 9, 2019 www.thunderbay.ca/en/recreation/teddy-bears-picnic
The Great Canadian Kayak Challenge & Festival:   Aug. 23-25, 2019 www.thegreatcanadiankayakchallenge.ca
Voyageur Winter Carnival:   Feb. 15-17, 2020 www.fwhp.ca

 

* Events with an asterisk represent Level of Distinction Festivals and Events.

Ad1
Ad2